My First Cake!

So recently I’ve been wanting to get into cake decorating, and last Wednesday I finally did it! I decorated my very first cake! Here’s some pictures I took of it (it’s my attempt at an ombre petal cake):

Now, I know it’s obviously not ombre. I didn’t want to do anything too fancy just yet. It’s just plain ole chocolate frosting. (Lol, it actually looks like a big oreo :P) Anyway, I didn’t make the cake. Target had these ‘Take & Decorate’ cakes that just had a white crumb coat on it. Luckily I got to buy one of the marble cakes that they had, and it tasted pretty good. And if I do say so myself, I think the design turned out pretty well for my first time! 😀

Here’s a funny story to go along with the pics: So I decorated it at like 9 o’clock at night, and I was already tired, so at first I put the frosting in a sandwich baggy. That didn’t turn out so well, so I switched it to one of the decorating bags (with the decorating tips) that I had and put the frosting in there. Well, I still had the decorating tip out and I decided to look at the instructions AFTER the fact. Needless to say I had to get something to push the tip into the bag, with the frosting already in there! Like I said, I was tired and apparently not thinking straight! I obviously knew how to use those, but my brain decided to throw away that information when I finally needed it.  -_-

If anyone wants to give this a try, here are some things that I looked at before I decorated my cake!

http://blog.wilton.com/index.php/how-to-decorate-an-ombre-petal-buttercream-cake/#q=ombre+petal+cake&start=2

What did you think about the cake? Anyone else into cake decorating (or wants to get into it)? Let me know! Until next time, darlings! ❤

19 thoughts on “My First Cake!

  1. I LOVE IT! It looks amazing! (as if I wasn’t there to see AND taste it! haha!) You did a great job for the first time. (except when you started the first few lines… ha!;)

    Like

  2. That cake looks so pretty! How were you able to cut into it? It looks to pretty to eat…
    I would like to get into cake decorating! I really like cooking and decorating! I’ve done cupcakes, but I’ll have to admit, I’m not very good at icing a cake…=)

    Like

    1. Thanks! Lol, I actually did have a hard time cutting into it! XD
      That’s awesome! I actually have tried doing cupcakes before (a long time ago) and they didn’t work well with me. I guess it’s sort of switched with us! 😛 I guess we just have to keep practicing till we get it right! 🙂
      Oh, and by the way, I know Wilton has a YouTube channel where they have all sorts of cake/cupcake decorating videos that give some awesome tips! (For example, I watched this one that talked about different types of icing/frosting and their consistency’s and what they work best with.) 😉

      Like

      1. That’s really neat! I’ll have to take a look! I think I might have seen one Wilton video a long time ago, and it was really helpful! I watched it with my Mom (who is awesome at decorating!!!)
        Yeah… We’ll just have to keep practicing=)
        By the way, I’ve forgotten to put the tip in the bag before filling it with icing too, so you’re not the only one=)

        Like

  3. I LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT REALLY LOOKS GOOD, AND I’M SURE IT TASTED JUST AS GOOD AS IT LOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Do u and Julia bake cakes often???
    I LUV to make cakes!!! Well i use the cake mixes from the store but i luv to icing it and make look pretty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I do have a recipe 4 making Butterscotch Bars!!! THERE AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My whole family thinks so, and thats a lot of people!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    #UNASHAMED
    #PEACE

    Like

  4. I LUV THE VIDEO TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    :))))))
    :> :> :> :> :> :> :> :> :> :>
    😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

