A Word on Friendship

Who doesn’t love being in the company of some very special people we call our friends? It seems that things can be 100 times more happier and funnier when you’re together. Whether you have many friends or just a close few, friendship is a truly wonderful gift.

“A friend loves at all times.” Proverbs 17:17

But, as you grow up you live and you learn, and realize that true friends are hard to come by. I know from my experience, that there have been some people in my life that I thought would be around forever; that they would be in my life no matter the storms. And as the years go by, our friendship started to fade away. At that time it seemed really tough to let go, and I wondered what the point of that friendship even was, if it was just doomed from the start. I mean really, who doesn’t feel that way after something like that? I tend to blame myself and think,“Gee, what’s the point of having my discernment if I didn’t even use it?!”.

“The righteous should choose his friends carefully, for the way of the wicked leads them astray.” Proverbs 12:26

Of course once I made new friends, I would get over it. But I would be very cautious in getting too close. As being members of the body of Christ, we must continue to spend time in The Word to increase our discernment so we can know when to strengthen our friendships with certain people. If not, the only path leads to heartbreak and pain.

“Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.”  John 15:13

In some situations the breaking of the friendship may be the other persons fault, but we must remember to look at the plank in our own eye. What did you do to help promote the end of the relationship? Did you gossip/spread rumors about them? Tell them hurtful things?  Be a fake friend? We must always treat others the way we want to be treated.

“A perverse man sows strife, and a whisperer separates the best of friends.” Proverbs 16:28

And so, friendship can be a roller coaster at times. But in that season of the roller coaster, you can always be sure to depend on God. For it is in Him, not Man, that we can find our true joy. ❤

*Author’s Note: Hey darlings! What’d you think of this post? I was thinking of making a series of posts on friendship. Like with tips you can use, cool friendship quotes, and activities to do with your besties. Would you be interested in something like that? Let me know in the comments below! See you later! * ❤

3 thoughts on “A Word on Friendship

Leave a Reply

